Scientific-Mystic Idealist?! I Guess I’ve Watched The Matrix Trilogy Too Much

May 18, 2005

As chronicled previously on this blog, taking online personality quizzes of dubious design is a guilty pleasure of mine.

Thus, when I saw a link on both Lindsay Beyerstein’s blog Majikthise and the equally wonderfully named group blog Lawyers, Guns, and Money to the following doozy of a dubiously designed quiz, "What Is Your World View?", I simply couldn’t resist.

I was quite surprised by my results:


You scored as Idealist. Idealism centers around the belief that we are moving towards something greater. An odd mix of evolutionist and spiritualist, you see the divine within ourselves, waiting to emerge over time. Many religious traditions express how the divine spirit lost its identity, thus creating our world of turmoil, but in time it will find itself and all things will again become one.

Idealist

69%

Modernist

63%

Postmodernist

56%

Existentialist

50%

Cultural Creative

50%

Materialist

44%

Fundamentalist

25%

Romanticist

13%

What is Your World View? (corrected…hopefully)
created with QuizFarm.com


Methinks I’ve been watching the Matrix Trilogy too much.

(Seriously though, and while on this note of the Matrix Trilogy, this utterly unscientific quiz might be onto something.   Among my many sci-fi aficionado amigos, I alone actually liked both Matrix Reloaded and Matrix Revolutions.  Moreover, I liked them especially because of their ever more overt Gnostic Christian / Hindu elements, whereas I know many thought these elements detracted too much from the movies’ core premise of "humans will use kung fu to overcome tyrannical robots in a dystopian future," which of course is something upon which all sci-fi aficionados readily agree.)

2 Responses to “Scientific-Mystic Idealist?! I Guess I’ve Watched The Matrix Trilogy Too Much”

  1. Brian Says:

    Hey Bill,
    apparantly I am a postmodernist, whatever that is.

  2. Neo aka Ryan Says:

    I personally prfer The MATRIX RELOADED myself because I especially love the Burly brawl scene and when Neo spins round that pole and the usage of the pole. Also I love the way he flies it is incredible especially how he manages to save Trinioty in time.


Leave a Reply

